妹娃音樂:追夢者案第四話 [榮忠豪]

Capture One Catalog0433 (1)

Interview/Article by Jocelle Koh

Edited by Michael W. Veronin

Translation by Carolyn Ting

全方位藝人榮忠豪這些年來全力投入在表演藝術並且在娛樂圈得到肯定。他強調一個人始終不能在自憐中自我放縱,而是要願意好與壞一起吸收,榮先生也表示他很大的動力來源是他的母親(Stephen,絕不要害怕失敗。。。)同時他也承認了他與Lara初次相識時立馬變回小粉絲。

  1. 可以簡單自我介紹嗎?

我是榮忠豪,來自美國維吉尼亞州,現在是居住在台灣的藝人。剛出道時,我參與了星光大道第5屆與超級偶像第5屆的歌唱比賽。我一直不斷地在許多方面累積經驗,有當過電視節目主持人、參與表演戲劇、在電影和電視劇客串等等。2016年時,我發行自己的專輯與寫真集叫做 “100% Daily Life”。

2. 我知道你像妹娃們一樣,出生於美國但父母親來自台灣。你什麼時候發現自己對音樂和演出的熱忱,為什麼因此決定搬回台灣?

我曾經看過一支我一歲半時在家庭聚會熱情跳舞的影片。我想當時的我就已經開始享受音樂給我的感覺。不過,維吉尼亞比較偏鄉下地方,並沒有太多表演的機會。雖然我在美國出生長大,但在媽媽的影響下我一直都會聽華語流行音樂,所以當台灣歌手一直以來都是我夢想。大學之前,我只會在洗澡時或在車上唱歌:我想站上的舞台都是在世界的另一頭。我老是認為這個夢想無法實現,當時也無法鼓起勇氣離開舒適圈,移到一個完全陌生的環境。但在2007年,我的學校維吉尼亞理工大學發生了可怕的意外。 一位具有暴力心理障礙的學生射殺32位同學,其中一位罹難者是我的好朋友。這件事真的讓我深深地領悟到生命真的太短暫。所以,我才會鼓起勇氣開始獨自探險,去了台灣開始追求在演藝圈工作的夢想。

3. 你什麼時候發現對唱歌表演的熱愛?有沒有特別珍貴的經驗?

每當特別的假日像是感恩節、聖誕節、農歷新年等等,我的母親都會舉辦派對。我們家有一台老舊的卡拉OK機(有很大螢幕的那種– 美國那時候沒有KTV這種東西)。我記得我總是聽見大人唱歌,然後有一天我拿起麥克風跟著唱,每個人都稱讚我,說我是個很好的歌手(有可能因為我媽是女主人,他們才會客套地誇獎我)而從那時起我就繼續不斷地唱,這份熱愛從高中持續到大學,我參與了所有的亞洲文化社,也在每個文創演出表演,到現在擁有機會當專業歌手在舞台上表演。現在回頭想想,也許我當初唱得很糟糕,但幸好當時的我沒有察覺到﹔否則我應該會因為太尷尬而不想繼續唱。 人生將你帶到的地方很有趣,但有時它的起源更好笑。

4. 你是個多才多藝的人–你擅長唱歌、跳舞和演奏多種樂器,但我們也知道你為了磨練技巧非常的努力。可以分享你是怎麼做到的嗎?一開始是什麼激發了你呢?

雖然我真的很榮幸,但其實我並不覺得自己多才多藝。簡單來說,我喜歡做所有事情,我有太多興趣卻老是覺得時間不夠,但有時候會因為不知道應該先專注在哪個興趣上而感到不知所措,我只能試著激勵自己每天都練習,讓每次的表演都更進步,這對觀眾跟我自己都是一種尊重及交代。我的最大的恐懼之一就是當我的觀眾認為我的表演沒有在進步,所以我必須每天逼自己不斷地磨練,才能夠更好。

5. 在追求夢想的過程中你一定面對過許多瓶頸,因此感到受壓迫或灰心,是什麼讓你繼續堅持下去呢?

有時候,生命真的很棘手。每個人一定都會有這種感覺。無論你有沒有錢,有時生命真的不會善待你,每當遇到瓶頸時,我會想盡辦法越過這些障礙,這是我的唯一選擇,也許有些人會選擇自怨自艾,自卑地躲起來哭泣,直到淹沒自己,但這不是我的作風。我覺得人生所有的歷練及困境塑造了今天的我。我當然不希望有個坎坷的人生,但當困境來臨時,我會盡全力從中學習。

6. 可以說一下這次與Lara和妹娃一起合作組曲的經驗嗎?感覺如何?

太糟了!和Lara工作完全是個噩夢!這句話從來沒人說過!!!好啦,不開玩笑了,其實與Lara工作,我非常地緊張。我不是只是隨口說說而已,Lara的 “下雨天” 是我有史以來最喜歡的歌之一,我常常會唱這首歌(尤其每次下雨的時候),之前參與了兩個不同的歌唱比賽也表演了這首歌。所以當初第一次與Lara碰面時,我完全變回小粉絲,而開始討論組曲合作時更是如此。我對這次決定合作的計劃充滿熱情與興奮,因為覺得很有趣也很好玩。我覺得這次的歌曲會讓我們的粉絲覺得“哇,好新奇!”。我非常興奮能夠和妹妹娃娃這麼有才華的團隊一起進行這計劃。而且,我現在終於可以跟朋友們炫耀“我認識Lara梁心頤”。

7. 對你而言,什麼(或誰)扮演了關鍵性的角色,激勵你去做一直想做的事情?

我的媽媽應該是我多年來主要的動力,我這些年為了在這個圈子找到定位經歷了不少挫折, 尤其身在異國,雖然我們分隔兩地,但我媽總是給予我鼓勵與正能量。我們幾乎每天都會視訊聊天(有時候甚至講到2,3個小時)我們什麼都聊,她說過的一句話我一直銘記在心裡:“Stephen,你千萬不要害怕失敗,跌倒時,記得臉朝著天跌,這樣才可以看到天空而記得總是有希望的。”這句話的確讓我保持我的正面人生觀。

8. 可以分享一個你最難忘的時刻或讓你最驕傲的經驗嗎?

其實,我對我每一個做的事情都感到驕傲。我知道聽起來會有點自負,但我覺得很多人都為他們的成就不夠自信。我們的社會總是教我們一直要做得更好,也因為這樣我們老是在競爭,這對我們的自尊造成破壞。我會一直提醒自己要不斷自我提升,要比昨天的我更好。在這競爭的行業裡我對所有的工作機會都很知足,也感恩有這個機會做我最熱愛的事情,不管是唱歌、演出或廣告,我都喜歡!但如果真的要我選一個的話,那會是我2016 EP + 寫真集“100% Daily Life”,裡面包含了一首我跟製作人何宗霖一起完成的一首歌,歌名是“母親節快樂”。那是第一次有人跟我說我可以自己寫歌並且收錄在我的第一張EP,那真的是很難忘的感覺!那也是一個朗朗上口的歌,所以當觀眾跟著唱時,那感覺真的很棒。在那時候你會想,“哇,我竟然可以寫出令人得到共鳴的歌”。那也激發了我渴望在為來寫更多歌曲。

 9. 隨著時間的變化,你的目標與夢想有因此變換或保持不變?如果有機會重來,你會對任何事情有所不同的做法嗎?

自從八年前離開美國後,我的夢想一直都很簡單:我希望能在演藝圈裡工作,而這一直都沒有改變。當然,每一位藝人都夢想著以某個方式成功。我的信念是繼續努力與在每個工作全力以赴。如果生活能從來,我不會想要改變任何事。即使在工作上失敗了,或做得不盡人意,如果我沒經歷過,那我永遠不會從中學習與從經驗中成長。要不是過去的歷練,我就不會是今天的我。你不該為了缺點而自責,但你可以激勵自己做最好的自己。

10. 每個人都有不同的故事,你認為在你的人生及事業裡最大的關鍵點是什麼?

絕不,永不放棄。除非你覺得那是對你最佳的決定。有時候,聽聽別人的想法是有益的,尤其是你信任的人,但絕對不要只因為他們是“專家”或在這行比你資深而聽取他們的建議。當地位比你高的人告訴他們“哦,你不能這樣做”或“你永遠不會成功的”或“你需要這樣才能成功”時,很多人屈服了。大多數人是懷著好意的,但每個人的情況不一樣,而你一定要為自己的人生判斷而做決定。

Dreamer Blog Series: Stephen Rong

Capture One Catalog0433 (1)

Interview/Article by Jocelle Koh

Edited by Michael W. Veronin

Translation by Carolyn Ting

Triple-threat artist Stephen Rong discusses how he is succeeding in his entertainment career through daily hard work and total dedication to the performing arts. He further emphasizes how one always must avoid self-indulgence in a “pity party” and be willing to “takeaway” the good with the not-so-good. For the most part, Mr. Rong attributes his motivation to his mother (“Stephen, don’t ever be afraid of failure…”) and comments on his collaboration with Lara and “the talented ladies at Meimeiwawa”, acknowledging that he “geeked out” in Lara’s spotlight at their initial acquaintance.

1. Can you introduce yourself to our readers?

My name is Stephen Rong and I am a performing artist based in Taiwan, but originally from Virginia, USA. I started my career by participating in singing competitions like 星光大道5屆 and 超級偶像5屆 . Afterwards, I gained experience in hosting TV shows, performing in theater productions, guest-starring in movies and dramas, and releasing my own EP + photo album in 2016 called “100% Daily Life.”

2. I know you, like the Meiwas, were born in America, but your family is originally from Taiwan. When did you discover your passion for music and performance, and what made you decide to move back to Taiwan to pursue it?

I saw a video of myself at a family party when I was a year and a half old, and I was dancing like crazy. I think even at that age I already enjoyed how music made me feel. As I was growing up in Virginia, however, there weren’t many opportunities to perform (it’s a very rural place).  Even though I was born and raised in the States, I grew up listening to Mando-pop (thanks to my mom) and so it was always a dream of mine to be a singer in Taiwan. Before college, the extent of my singing was limited to being in the shower or the car: the stages that I dreamed of performing on were located on the other side of the world. It didn’t seem possible to achieve this dream, and at the time I didn’t have the courage it takes to leave my safety zone and travel to a completely different country. Then, the 2007 Virginia Tech (which I attended) incident occurred when a student with a violent mental disorder shot thirty-two fellow students, one of them being my good friend. This event really woke me up and forced me to see that life is just too goddamn short. So that’s when I gathered the courage to embark on a solo adventure to Taiwan to pursue my aspirations of working in the entertainment industry.

3. When did you first discover your love for singing and performing? Was there any particularly significant experience you can recall?

My mother used to throw parties on special holidays like Thanksgiving, Christmas, Chinese New Year, etc. We had an old karaoke machine (the kind that plays those HUGE LCDs — we didn’t have KTV joints where I lived in the States) and I remember I always heard the adults singing and one day I picked up the mic and just started singing along. Everyone complimented me and said I was a great singer (they probably were all just being polite because my mom was the hostess of the party), and I just kept on singing and singing. That passion carried on from high school to college, where I joined all the Asian organizations and performed at every cultural show, and now I have the opportunity to perform on stages as a professional singer. Looking back now, I think I was a terrible singer at those karaoke parties, but it’s a good thing I didn’t notice back then; otherwise I probably would have been too embarrassed to continue. It’s funny where life takes you, but the origins sometimes are even funnier.

4. We know you’re a triple threat — you sing, dance and play multiple instruments. But we also know that you work very hard to hone all of these skills. Can you share how you do it and what motivated you to do so in the first place?

I honestly don’t really see myself as a “triple threat” although it is flattering to hear. Simply put, I just love to do everything. I have too many interests and not enough time, and quite frankly, sometimes I feel overwhelmed because I’m not sure what skill I should focus on. I just try to push myself to practice a little bit [more] of everything every day and to get better and better each time I perform. It’s a way of respecting my audience as well as respecting myself. One of my greatest fears is for people to see me after some time and think: “He hasn’t improved at all”, and I think in order to avoid that, I must force myself to get better and better with each passing day.

5. I’m sure you have faced many obstacles pursuing these dreams. Whenever you may have felt downtrodden or disheartened, what was it that made you keep going?

Life can be a bitch sometimes. This pertains to everyone out there in this world. Doesn’t matter if you’re rich, poor, somewhere in between; life is out to get you sometimes. When obstacles get in my way, I just find a way around, under, or over them.  Either you can do that or you can crawl up in a ball and cry yourself into a pool of pity until you drown, which isn’t really my style. Actually, strangely enough, I think obstacles and hardships in life are what make us and give us character. I don’t wish for them to enter my life obviously, but when they do pay me a visit, I make sure I learn as much from the experience as possible.

6. Can you say a few words about your experience working with Lara and Meimeiwawa on this mash-up thus far? What has the experience been like for you?

Terrible! Lara is a total nightmare to work with! SAID NO ONE EVER!!! Okay, all kidding aside, I was actually extremely nervous to be working with Lara. I’m not just saying this, but Lara’s “下雨天” is one of my all-time favorite songs. I sing it all the time (every single rainy day, in fact) and I even performed it while competing in two different singing competitions. So when I met Lara for the first time, I totally geeked out, and further geeked out when we started talking about working together on the mash-up. I think the project that we have decided to collaborate on is one that I feel very passionate and excited about because it’s fun and quirky and it’s something that I think will make our fans (and even new listeners) go, “Oh…that’s new!” I’m super-excited to be doing this project with the talented ladies at Meimeiwawa. Also, I have proof now that I know Lara and can brag about it to my friends.

7. What (or who) would you say has been crucial in motivating you to do what you have always wanted to do?

Probably my mother has been my main motivation over the years. I have been through a lot of rough patches during my years of pursuing a career in entertainment, especially in a foreign country, but my mom always has given me encouragement and positive energy even though we are on opposite sides of the world. We Skype [each other] almost every other day and talk about everything under the sun (we have had some 2-3 hour-long conversations, believe it or not). The one thing she said to me that always stuck with me is: “Stephen, don’t ever be afraid of failure. When you fall down, just remember to fall facing up, so you can always see the sky and know that there is always hope.” That definitely has helped me to maintain a positive outlook on life.

8. Self-evaluating your career overall, can you share one of your most memorable moments or achievements of which you are most proud?

 Actually, I’m always proud of myself for everything I do. I know it may sound a bit conceited, but the reason is I believe people don’t give themselves enough credit for their own accomplishments. Our society teaches us “always be better” and we start getting into this comparison mode with other people, and ultimately this can be very damaging to one’s self-esteem. I always remind myself to push for self-improvement by comparing myself to myself only, and always to be grateful for getting work in this competitive industry and having the wonderful opportunity to be doing what I love the most. It doesn’t matter if it’s a singing gig, an acting job, or a commercial. I love all of it! But if you REALLY need me to choose an achievement, it would have to be the fact that my 2016 EP + photo album “100% Daily Life” includes a song that I wrote myself  (with the help of my producer 何宗霖) called “母親節快樂” . It was the first time I ever had someone tell me that I could actually write songs and include them in my first EP; that was certainly an amazing feeling! It’s also an extremely easy song to sing, so it’s the best feeling in the world when you get people in the audience to sing along with you. You just think, “Wow, I can actually write something people can relate to”. Seeing that makes me want to write even more songs in the future.

9. Over the course of time, how have your goals and dreams differed, and/or stayed the same? Is there anything you would do differently if you could have a do-over?

My dream since I left America eight years ago always has been quite simple: I want to work in the entertainment industry and this hasn’t changed at all. Obviously, everyone who works in this industry dreams of success in some way, shape or form. My belief is to continue to work hard and do the best I can in every job that is thrown down my path. If I could start life over, I wouldn’t choose to do things differently at all. Even when I fail at a job, or don’t perform [it]to my expectations, my takeaway is always that even when it seems like a total failure, if I hadn’t gone through it, then I would never learn from it and grow from the experience. I wouldn’t be who I am today if it wasn’t for the experiences that I have had in the past. You should never beat yourself up for having flaws, but you always can push yourself to be the best you can be.

10. Everyone’s story is different, but in telling your story to our readers, what do you think the biggest takeaway from your [career] is?

To never, ever give up unless you, yourself, feel like that is the decision that is best for you. It’s good to listen to other people’s advice sometimes, especially from people that you trust, but never listen to other people just because they are the “pros” or have been in the business longer. A lot of people give in when someone else (especially a person of an authoritative position) tells them “Oh, you can’t do that” or “You’ll never succeed” or “You have to be like this in order to succeed”. Most people mean well, but everyone’s situation is different and you, yourself, must be the best judge on what to do with your life.